New Member: Daniel GTA Toronto Canada

Hi Everybody,
My name is Daniel, I live in the GTA in Ontario Canada, and I’m natural from São Paulo Brazil. I am completely new to Memory Techniques. I crossed it by chance on a YouTube video about improving memory, something most people dream and phantasize about, and he explained about the Memory Palace. I was caught. Why they don’t teach it at school!!!
I started reading myself, took the dust from “The Memory Book” from Harry Lorayne and Jerry Lucas I had for 10 years and could never understand, started reading “Moonwalking With Einstein” from Joshua Foer and found an edition of “Remember Remember” from Ed Cooke I’m still trying to decider.
I am a physician and have to deal with thousands of new information every day, from scientific publications that are very detailed and technical and from people I meet and would like to retain some information, at least the name. I’ve being trying to apply the techniques I’m reading about, but it is not being so easy. The volume of information is so big, even creating images, it’s being difficult to retain and recall them. No start is easy, but I hope I can overcome this initial barriers and make these techniques part of my normal functioning. Otherwise, how can I ever remember the HR for a given drug in a given clinical trial is 0.55, with PFS of 8.07 months and an OS of 16 months, having hundreds of these trials and their cross-comparisons, each trial with a name, an author, an institution, and thousands of other details.
I’m happy I’ve found the Forum. Alone I was not going far, together we can get there.
All suggestions are more than welcome. New books, tips, readings, and definitely links in the forum.
Nice to meet you all.
Daniel

2 Likes

Welcome to the site! :slight_smile:

If you haven’t seen them yet, the free ebook has tips on getting started along with links on where to read more, and the #faqs list has a page about memory books.

1 Like