New Member: Andy, United States

Hi! I thought I’d follow the suggested questions for my intro post. Sorry it’s so long. XD

Tell us about yourself: who are you, what do you do, where are you from?

Professionally I’m a programmer, and I produce ebooks for a publisher. Apart from that I spend a lot of my time exploring all kinds of subjects, trying to figure out the world. Eventually I’d like to dig deeply into artificial intelligence and maybe try to work in that field. Or I might move in the direction of psychotherapy. My education is in religion.

I also play the piano and sometimes compose a little music.

How did you find about memory techniques? What did you like about them most?

I don’t remember how I found out memory techniques existed, but around college I picked up a book on them from the library and read enough to pick up at least the link system. I think it was Harry Lorayne’s How to Develop a Super Power Memory. But I didn’t put it into practice.

Then 10 years ago I was reminded of mnemonics by the book The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and I found Kenneth Higbee’s Your Memory: How It Works and How to Improve It. I studied it pretty closely and came up with my own framework for understanding memory improvement. I wrote about it in an essay on my website. A few years later I read Mnemonology by James Worthen and R. Reed Hunt.

But still I didn’t follow up with much practice. Now I’m coming back to it, and this time I have so much to learn for my future plans that I’m hoping to take these methods seriously.

What I like about them is how well they seem to work. Who knew everyone had this hidden memory superpower?

To prepare for my current project of setting up my learning system, I’ve lurked on the forum and read these books:

• Higbee’s Your Memory again
  • Memory Craft by Lynne Kelly, which I’d seen before but this forum reminded me of, and now it’s tied with Higbee for my favorite book on memory.