New Member: Andrew, US

(Andrew Penton) #1

I’m Andrew, I’m a senior in high school right now. I got interested in memory techniques from a blog post by someone who was able to meet one of the GMM requirements in just a month (he had some prior training).

I started learning memory techniques a little out of order. I watched a video in which I learned a fictional, 20-loci palace and started using it along with a 10-location palace from my route to school. I’ve also developed a PAO system for 00-99 (major system) with great success, just yesterday I was able to memorize 59/60 digits with my only mistake in the encoding process.

My concern right now is finding new memory palaces, I can only think to create new ones at my house and school. Are there any suggestions for places I can use? (Other than video games, I don’t typically play them very much)

I don’t have any practical goal I want to accomplish, just to be able to perform feats and maybe compete one day. I also hope to join/start a memory club in university.

I’m looking forward to the new ideas I might learn from ArtOfMemory, I am most inclined towards math so I’ve spent time already learning how to square 2- and 3-digit numbers, find cube roots of perfect cubes up to 1,000,000, and the doomsday algorithm.

(Nicholas Mihaila) #2

Welcome to the forum, Andrew! I also have an interest in math. Out of curiosity, what method do you use for computing squares?

Welcome @8787943

if you’re interested, I’ve just posted something on different approaches to mentally square 2-digit numbers:

(Andrew Penton) #4