New Member : Alexandre G-LeBlanc, Canada

A little about myself :
I am a mechanical engineer and my first language is french. I am very curious and I love to : learn new things daily, understand the underlying principles of everything and improve what is around me.

I used to think I had a bad memory because when I was a little boy, I couldn’t remember what I did during the day when my parents asked me about it during supper. I didn’t know my geography, neither history and I was very bad at general knowledge board games. It got to the point I did even bother to try to learn it.

This made me very good at taking notes and making summaries, but I realized recently that in real life dicussions, you don’t have them nearby, or you don’t find the one your looking for when you need it. It also force you to relearn things if you didn’t look at it for a while.

How I found about memory techniques :
7 years ago, when I finished school, since I like to learn new things, I decided to try to learn a third language (spanish). I tried many different websites, some worked bether than others, but after 5 years, I knew words, but could’nt make much sentences and listening to TV shows was still a blur.

About 2 years ago, I took a new year resolution to do something about my “bad memory”. So I looked into what champion of memory do to remember decks of cards, etc,. What I liked about them was the principle that there is no “bad memory” there is only “untrainned” memory. So I decided to get into it and to learn the Major System and the 00-99 “Numzi” peg words. I used Anki for repetition.

I also started to learn all the countries of the world, along with their capitals and flags using also Anki. I wanted to learn them because otherwise, you don’t have anywhere to stick information about your friend vacation trip, or historical events (countries tend to fight with countries near them).