New Member: 25y, Teo Kark, Greece, Medicine (want to become Psychiatrist)

Hi guys, I’m Teo Kark, from Athens, Greece, and I am glad I found this forum :slight_smile:
Actually I believe its the best way to recommit to training my memory.

I just finished University of Medicine of Ioannina and I am currently studying for the USMLE (Medical Exams - all Medicine subjects again, + in English, in order to get accepted for residency @USA)

My current best memory feat is nothing spectacular, I managed to memorize a deck of cards in about 10 minutes.
I found about Memory techniques from a recommendation ( i dont remember where ) of Joshua’s Foehr book - moonwalking w/ Einstein.

What I love about them most is that they make learning SO much more interesting, and engaging and effective.
I also love the creativity re-ignition - that creativity is so much more important than thought before, and these techs are the best to cultivate it.

My biggest challenge is that I try to memorize Biochemistry and I don’t know how to do it, where to start, what palace (or palaces, or WORLD) to create to put all these weird stuff, how to memorize all these names, their location, their use etc. Just so much info overload that makes me backslide all the time to the “just read these books like a normal person” mindset and it frustrates the hell out of me.

The biggest goal? Be able to visualize (and eventually memorize and speedread) the whole USMLE material (= the most important things of Medicine in english - I learned medicine in greek…)

I decided to become an ArtOfMemory.com Member (just found it from a LifeHacker post) bcz it seemed the best way to become more accountable, find more ppl with the same interests, reignite my passion about memory and learning, learn some more techniques or keep practicing what I know, and be able to rock this goal.

Nice to meet you, forum :smiley:

5 Likes