New here: Looking for some advice on how to get started...

Hi all.

So a little introduction, I’m nearly 33 and I’m a teacher. I’ve never had a great memory, especially with names. But recently… to be honest its really been worrying me, I can’t remember simple stuff that most people can remember. One thing that really stuck with me… I was on a holiday in South America, and I was on a tour, the tour-guide was talking about some pretty interesting stuff, and he said a few names… Now I was already worried about my memory at this point, and I’d been trying to make a note of actively TRYING to remember stuff. Anyway at the end of the tour the tour guide did a quick quiz, and one of the things he asked was the three names he’d mentioned.

Now I’d say a good 70% plus of the people on the tour could pull these names from their memory banks… but I had no idea… So me, who was PURPOSELY trying to remember these names, was still failing to retain information that most people apparently could without trying…

So I really want to try to get better at this, and I know there are techniques that can help. I’m totally new here, so I guess I’m just looking for some guidance, the sort of paths others have taken, the techniques they use, maybe the software etc etc.

I’m really looking for practical real world stuff. I don’t want to memorise pi to the billionth digit. For example, I’m currently studying for a teaching exam, and I often study for hours but honestly if I ask myself, “What have I learned?”… its not easy to answer, I often feel like my mind is like sand slipping through someones fingers.

So yea! That’s my brief story, I’m really hoping I can get better at this. I’ve got some basic knowledge about mnemonic devices and stuff, but I’m really a total newbie. Thanks for all the help!

Richard.

4 Likes

I think maybe you might be underestimating yourself. A teacher is a highly-respected professional.