Mnemonics vs Rote

(Will Roberts) #1

I was thinking about it recently and noticed I learned the Rubik’s cube long after I started learning memory techniques and have never used them with the cube. Never felt it necessary. In fact, I feel reviewing algerithims in my head while solving it would slow me down.

When I learned it, I literally did one algerithim a day until I covered all the basic algerithims. Took me about the better portion of a week and half.

I see now that doing it all via muscle memory allows my mind more space to concentrate on other tasks simultaneously - like reciting Presidents or the books of the Bible.

I can definitely see mnemonics/memory techniques aiding with rote/muscle memory, and vise versa.

So my question is what has been your experience, thoughts on the matter, or anything else you would like to add to the discussion.

And as always, your thoughts, time and input are appreciated.

-WR

PS: What are your thoughts on ways to go about learning sequences of movements (ie: F2L with the cube, dance, sports plays, etc) using memory techniques.

I never used memory techniques to memorize the sequence of moves. If you use finger tricks you know that not all R, U, D, etc. feel the same depending on what comes before or after in the sequence.

They can be used in an abstract way in PLL; a Y-perm or a T-perm look pretty much the same as the pieces that are being swapped. I say abstract because some people might simply call that pattern recognition, but I guess a case could be made that it’s a mnemonic of sorts.

Now the obvious place for memory techniques as far as the cube is when you solve it blindfolded. Most people start with Old Pochmann, so simply the Y, T, R and optional J(a) and J(b) perms you know from the full PLL.