Mnemonic abuse, advertising/YouTube/elsagate, protection

Can we inoculate children from addiction?

I’m a teacher.
I’ve coached parents on how to deal with YouTube: Ban it or make alterations to make it less addictive and mentally damaging.

Today I taught one of my regular students and I found she’s developed some symptoms of Instant Gratification Syndrome. I found she’s been left alone with the phone for hours. The parent hadn’t followed my advice. I’d sent them easy to digest information about exactly the reasons why and countermeasures to address the damage once addiction has set in. She didn’t listen. Now I have to pick up the pieces. I understand the pressure is 24/7 for YouTube but I’m still livid. If there wasn’t a social connection to her I’d chastise the parent.
The last time we had a really serious case of this we had to put that child in the afternoon session with a severely autistic student because he was that much trouble. He was trying to communicate through YouTube mime culture but no-one around him had seen enough YouTube to be able to relate to him.

As we know, the algorithm rewards the most memorable videos. Just like advertising it’s a great source for mnemonic study. Video makers will take things that they know children already know and disturb them as much as possible with it. You will recognize many of the familiar mnemonic techniques in kid’s YouTube videos but unlike education there seems to be little purpose or direction. Thankfully, since Elsagate, the methods are less sexualised but horror is still in use.

I have integrated some of the tricks the YouTube videos use in my teaching. For example, the mystery box ‘What’s Inside?’ and anthropomorphising everything. However, I always wonder what is the line of what is acceptable. I could imagine a teacher being pressured to get grades pushing the boundary, especially to compete with YouTube. I notice that Disney seem to get away with more than I’d dare.