Memory Training as a student

Hello from the United States! I’m currently a high school student, so as you may have been able to guess, I am often overwhelmed by homework and tests. I am currently reading “Moon walking with Einstein” by Josh Foer and became interested in the memory training community. With all that being said, what do you all suggest I should start with in order to better use my memory to study for tests/learn more in school? I’d be grateful for a response.

Get a memory palace. It’s likely you already have some like your house and your school, but I doubt it’s enough.

I believe you have already walked through one of the exercises in the Moonwalk book by placing items in your house and you know it WILL work.

Basically it’s the same with tests and exams, you turn the words into tangible things and do the same, place them in the loci in your palace in interesting ways, make them as wild as you like, no one knows what you’re thinking.

No need to practice much at all, I mean like no need to place unnecessary and irrelevant stuff into your palaces just for practice and waste limited locations. But make sure you repeat and revisit them as much as possible when you’re really using it for exams or tests.

Personally, the only problem I’ve come across is not enough loci. Just one exam, 700 words, used my entire school. So get ready to expand your palaces.

(I didn’t read the whole book, cuz a lot of it is just boring story telling, and the memory palace technique is already enough. )

1 Like

As a student your objective will be more of less understand what is assigned in your curriculum and be able to reproduce that knowledge when tested in some test to get credit of your learning. This objective will need multiple skills, and major skills needed will be ability to understand the content and to retain it in memory so that it can be applied to practical situations as well as to reproduce in examinations and viva vices