Memory Techniques for each of the 10 disciplines of the WMC?

Hi everyone, I hope you’re all well! :slight_smile: I’m a complete novice in memory. Which memory techniques do you use for each of the 10 disciplines of WMC? Many thanks :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Welcome!

For starters, I would consider looking at events with the IAM and other online platforms like memory league, because the WMC is I believe less accessible because they are infrequently held and usually in China.

https://www.iamwmc.com/competition/training.html#

I like to consider the disciplines roughly speaking as:

Events that are numerically based, or use a cross discipline system.

-Random Numbers, Binary, Cards, (and even historical dates)
There are different approaches. PAO is a good system for someone to start, it has been used to win many competitions. Especially about 10 years ago and gives results quickly.

I’ve got to run, hope thats a start, though I didn’t touch on non numerical disciplines like Names and Faces, Words, etc.

2 Likes

Speed cards/Long cards: Using any card system like the PAO or 2 card system would work. You would also use a memory palace to store all the images.

Speed numbers/Long numbers: Use a double digit system or a 3 digit system. You would still use a memory palace to store the images.

Random words: You will need to find how many words you would want per location. I personally use 2 words/location. You would also use a memory palace. To create your images, you just need to practice changing words into images.

Spoken numbers: Use any number system you want and a memory palace. You need to practice changing the numbers you hear into your images without memorizing them. This event is pretty intense.