Memory Palace: adding 2nd levels of detail

Hello, I’m new here so if what I’m asking has already been replied to, if you could let me know what older threads to look at, that would be great!

I’ve got as far as learning some routes, and can then place things on these walks / routes to remember things in sequence, whether a deck of cards or a list, such as Prime Ministers of Great Britain in order, etc.

What I’m not sure of though, is how to then increase the data I can access for each main entry, For example, for a list of artists, I’d like to be able for each one to have at least some summary info, such as dates, best known works, and other interesting facts.

I’m sure this has been covered somewhere, but I’d love to hear your tips please?

Thanks

Rich

2 Likes

Hey Rich,

When I learn random facts I usually rely on attaching wacky images onto things that will trigger my memory. I’m not really an expert on artists but I will use Vincent Van Goph as an example. Since a lot of these facts use numbers I will be using the Major Peg system for numbers (basically numbers 0-9 have a sound)

Age: For this I think it’s well known that Vincent died from a self inflicted gun wound. So when I think of age I picture Van Goph Shooting himself with a gun. I put this image inside a giant [MuG]. This would tell me that he was 37 years old (M = 3, G/K = 7). To make it more memorable I would try imagine the echos of the gunshot, and the smell of gunpowder etc. in the mug. If you want to know where he dies, You can imagine he shoots himself with a [baguette] (you guessed it, he died in France).

Year of famous Starry Night painting: For this I think of Van Goph lying on the grass gazing at the stars of the night. While he’s doing this I image he is on a picnic and loses a [TooTH] when he bites into a [FaB] ice lolly. This reminds me that ths Starry night painting was made in 1889 (T/D =1, F/V = 8, B/P = 9)