Memorizing Phone Numbers with the PAO System, adding Adjectives

I’m new at both mnemotechnics and this site, so maybe I post this at the wrong place.

I’m from the Netherlands and we have mobile phonenumbers starting with 06 and then 8 digits. This made me think of the idea of adding adjectives to the PAO system. For example (using familiar ones):

15 - P - Albert Einstein, A - Writing on Blackboard, O - Chalk, A - Red
54 - P - Michael Jackson, A - Moonwalking, O - White Glove, A - Dirty

Which would make:

Michael Jackson moonwalking with a dirty glove.

Or maybe fitting better in the original system:

Michael Jackson moonwalking with a glove that is dirty.

That would be a convenient way to grasp 4x2=8 digits = a complete telephonenumber.

Does this make any sense? Or has it been tried before and is it a bad idea?
Are there far smarter alternatives?

Thanks!

This makes complete sense jprott. Similar ideas have been tried before, adding extra parts to a PAO, like tools, concepts, including adjectives. Unfortunately, a lot of people like to come to this site for help, then disappear. They don’t keep us up-to-date with how their idea worked for them. So that could mean that it worked, and they disappeared because they didn’t need our help any more. :stuck_out_tongue:

The adjective thing could definitely work if you can visually picture it. I’ve seen similar ideas for colour and appearance be added to objects to memorise other types of information. Red meaning this, blue meaning this, white meaning this, shiny meaning this…etc. and it seems to have worked there.

For me, in situations such as that with 8 digits, I give my image 2 objects. So it’s a person, action, 2 objects. PAOO That works for me. :slight_smile:
Your adjective idea could also work, though I haven’t tried it myself, but if you can vividly picture the feature, then I don’t see any reason it couldn’t work!

Thanks Hype.