Memorizing General Dates (YYYY) vs. Memorizing Specific Dates (DDMMYYYY)

Hey!
I am new to this whole memory thing, but super interested. I have compiled a list of people & actions, according to the Dominic System, and so far memorised everything as best as possible. Now I’m slowly trying to make use of that system, but I’m a bit confused about a few things.

My main question so far seems to be this.
Say I have the following things to remember:

Event A : from 1901 until 1918
Event B: 19 January 1918

How would you go about dates like these? For some events I need to remember just the years, for others I need to remember exact (and full) dates. How do I know that my date is 1901 until 1918 and not the 19.01.1918? Any ideas?

Thanks a lot!!!

2 Likes

Hi, d.miller

Event A : from 1901 until 1918
For the word “Until”, use a “ROPE” between 01 and 18 to tie them up together.

Event B : 19 January 1918
For the word January - I’d use an image for January. In my case it is Umbrella, as J looks like an umbrella that also gives the impression of winter time.

Hope this helps.

3 Likes

Welcome!

I’m not sure my approach will help, especially since I use the U.S. date format of MMDDYYYY. But when I’ve memorized specific dates, my approach is to have an image for the month that is based on a natural association with that word/month. April is rain, December is a Christmas tree, July is fireworks, etc. The DD is an image based on the Major system. For a four-digit year, I use animals/creatures based on the Major system to represent the century; those animals/creatures then have an action or object that represents the last YY of the year. (If all of your dates are going to start with 19__, then maybe you can skip encoding that information entirely.)

For me, 19 would be a tabby cat. So, 1901-1918 might be represented by a tabby cat (19) wearing a suit (01) and walking toward a dove (18). That “walking toward” also acts as a way of connecting 1901 to 1918.