Memorizing Bible Verses

I am Peter from Paraparaumu, New Zealand. I’m trying to memorise Bible verses. I’ve got 20 tucked away but I would like to get up to 100 if possible. I figure out the key word for a verse and that becomes my key. but then I have to related that to a reference. For example: If I want to remember the first book of Peter chapter 2 verse 23 a key word could be “wounds” and the reference 1 Peter 2:24. I can remember the words of the verse but tying it into to a reference is my difficulty. Can anyone suggest a good approach. I’m new at this memory thing so I’d appreciate some thoughts.

1 Like

Welcome to the site! :slight_smile:

I edited the title of your post to make it easier for people to find your question.

Have you tried searching the forum for the keyword “Bible”? There are some previous discussions about it that might have tips. The search box is in the top menu area of the page.

1 Like

If it helps, you could probably customize a PAO system to create mnemonics for each book chapter:verse of the New Testament.

Most of the books are named after a man. So that would be your person. You would need a Action-Object numeric system for the chapter and verse. That is, the chapter number would be an actin and the verse number would be an object.

1 Like

Thanks tarnation. I’m a bit slow. Would it be possible to give me an example. Thanks

Here is a link to an excellent explanation of the PAO system that you should start with:

https://artofmemory.com/wiki/Person-Action-Object_(PAO)_System

I don’t know which number mnemonic system you use. I use the Major system, but in the link, they provide a small table with some examples using the Dominic system, so let’s use that.

Number Person Action Object
15 Albert Einstein writing blackboard
16 Arnold Schwarzenegger lifting weights
33 Charlie Chaplin swinging cane