Major system, 1 or 01?

Newbie here, just starting.

I’m learning my major system 00-99. From what I’ve read on the forums, there are no tricks for learning 00-99, it is just old-school rote memorization (flashcards, practice, practice), right? I’m ok with that, the ends easily justify the effort, but if anyone has any tips for making it a little easier, I’m all ears.

However, I do have a very simple question regarding the major system. Let’s say you want to remember “3 lemons”. Do you use the image for “03”, or do you use whatever system you want for single digits 0-9? For 0-9 I use numbers as shapes.

I guess I could also come up with a major system for single digits 0-9, but I’m already very comfortable with my shape system, and, besides, the same question would still apply. Are “03” and “3” interchangeable for simple single digit things?

Obviously if you are remembering 1903, you’d be using “03” exclusively.

Casey

2 Likes

Hi boulderKC,

for me it is dependant on the situation.

For example when I want to remember a serial number before I have the chance to write it down : 1903560 is to be remembered with 03 not 3 .

But 3 lemons I remember as the number name for 3.
Or if the picture for 03 lemons is more fun or has more living picture I might choose that. Depends on my time I have.

1 Like

I usually stick to two-digit numbers exclusively. I do have images for the others as well if they are needed. For example, 7 is a key but 07 is the sky.

3 Likes

My brain asking this, but i ignore it,

My three digit memory system consists of using 1-9 as people i know then 01-99 as major system for a three digit system. for example. 399 would be my 3rd person doing the action from my 99 major system. i found this to be the quickest way to learn 3 digit system, without having to make up all new words for each 3 digit number.

2 Likes

I also use number shapes for 0-9. I use my 00-09 images only where there is a zero there.

1 Like