Latest achievement

Hello guys,
It’s been a while since I’ve created a topic. 2020 was a difficult year for me and people close to me, covid was unfortunately just one of the many issues.

2021 is gradually getting brighter and I thought I could share a recent small achievement of mine with you all. Currently I am studying for a test that I have to take in a few months, if I pass I can go to college. In order to pass you have to learn around 350 concepts from a civics book with ~185 pages.

I’ve had some trouble finding the motivation to study, 2020 left a decent mark. But I know that the test is important so I decided to slowly built my motivation by doing something fun, as a way to get used to studying again.

I decided to memorize the book, word by word.

Right now, I learned around 150 sentences, containing around 2300 words. It took me around 5-6 hours. I would learn 1-2 hours, leave the book on the table for a week or so and then learn again. This was spread out over 4-5 weeks.

As usual I did this without mnemonics. I could’ve probably memorized half the book by now if I learned daily but this was just for fun. I won’t study the whole book this way. When I actually start to study I’ll only learn the concepts and leave the rest out.

I plan to post more things on the forum again and be more active in the community in general. I actually am trying to figure out if I could organize a small tournament with prizemoney in the near future, it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for some time now. The memory/mental calculation community is the only community that I ever felt connected to and I want to give something back and help it thrive.

Thanks for reading. I look forward to future conversations!

4 Likes

What happens in your head when you do these large scale memorizations, and have you been tested to be a savant?

1 Like

Not much happens. I just do rote memorization when I am learning the text.