Is 1-Card System viable?

Hi there, i’m kinda new to memory techniques, when I first learnt how to memorize a deck of cards I used 1 card image system and I placed 2 images per loci. I quickly changed over PAO because I read It was faster but the results were not that good (like 8 minutes per deck which is not that bad for a newbie anyway) . So I returned back to 1 card/ image system (approx 1 week ago) and started getting 5 minutes time. During this week I practiced a lot and yesterday I got a PB of 90.74s for a perfect deck (avg 100s). It felt really great but then I talked with a champion that told me to switch back to pao as soon as possible. Idk what to do because I know that sooner or later I will need to change to a more advanved technique to keep lowering times and It will be harder to make this change in the future because my brain will be super familiar with my actual method if I keep using it. On the other hand , I believe I could get good times also using this method, but I’m not sure… Are there any guys that use this beginner method for speed cards but also for like 1 hour deck of cards?

What do you think I should do? Change method later? My goal is (sooner or later) to compete

Hi, justspells!

I am also new in the game, and I am getting about the same times as you using one image per card. I only put one image per loci, so I can “run” faster between loci. I did some research regarding the PAO system and other systems, and interestingly a tidbit was dropped by Allex Mullen during an interview with Nelson Dellis. I am not sure about posting links, so search on YouTube for this title: Nelson Dellis’ MIND SHOW - Alex Mullen // 2015 World Memory Champion.

Alex uses a complicated system, but he talked about a Chinese competitor that won the 1-hour card event. If I remember correctly, Alex said, the Chinese MA used a one-card system.