Incorporating Kanji-learning with PAO/peg systems

I have been studying Japanese for nearly 3 years now - it’s my major at university, and frankly I’m not particularly happy with how I’ve been doing with it. Not just in facets of kanji, but it’s one area I feel like I really want to crack down and get ahead on it.

I’ve only recently started sitting down and understanding mnemnonics and how they work - I think my brain is more accustom to just having a list of things and remembering that list for the time being, but I’ve been fascinated in trying to ingratiate my language studies with mnemonics. I know of Dominic O’Brien’s means to remember lanugages (though I haven’t read/listened to it yet), but with a non-Romance Language like Japanese, it’s been an arduous process.

So lately, I’ve been trying to find a way to incorporate a way to really memorise them, and I think I’ve come about something that could come to decent fruition with more time spent on it. This isn’t a 1-to-1 use for PAO with kanji, but I think it’s somewhat incorporated.

Let’s take 定 as an example - a kanji that represents ‘fix’.

Radicals: Roof + Coat Rack (going off of this spreadsheet that lists every radical Kanji Radicals Reference - Google Sheets).

Onyomi: テイ (Tei)、ジョウ (Joo/Jou)

Kunyomi: さだ(める)、さだ(まる)、さだ(か)- predeominantly Sada

I ascribe a person to any onyomi reading to a kanji I’m unfamiliar with. A common reading is コウ, which I assign to a character called Kou from a PS2 game I play all the time. In this case, where there’s two readings, I have two people at a point that link to Jou [a Joe I know] and a Tei [as it’s phonetically Tay I have a few options for this one].

The action ascribed is the English meaning, which helps a lot more with verbs. However, the props involved are the radicals; imagining Joe and Tay(lor) both fixing a coat rack on my roof, or a roof, or something else that’s quite bizarre helps me remember them.