How to trigger memory

Hi all
I’m quite new to mnemonic technics but I’m enjoying them a lot.
Yesterday evening my wife went to bed and told me : “remember, before you reach me do [this] and [that]” . It goes without saying: I forgot to do both this and that. I did also imagined some kind of story that would help me remember: I saw me in the action on going upstairs (our bedroom is on the second floor) and being kept from strings, which actually was related to something my wife asked me to do. But nothing happened when, after a couple of hours, I took those stairs.
So my question is : how can I trigger a thought without using external aids such as some object laying in the stairs, in order to remember me to stop and think what I shall do?

3 Likes

HI ziotempa,

I have been having fun using mnemonics for many, many years, but I kept running into a problem remembering to do the jobs my wife plans for me.

I even tried to visualize actions very similar to what you describe. Not sure why, but that didn’t work for me either. And, if I tried leaving objects around to remind me, but then I got in more trouble and had to clean up my mess.

So, finally I thought of a way to make my problem a little better. What I did was memorize about 50 different excuses and 50 ways to apologize. Now she is getting tired of hearing them and has started to leave me alone.

:smiley:

Hope this helps,

Darn

4 Likes