How to get back into this?

np

It’s been a long time guys. I originally joined this site a few years ago. Since, my need for memory training has changed. I want to be able to train my memory to better remember and be able to produce vocabulary in my target language: Arabic. I don’t really know the best way to do this. I’ve been relying on Anki and flashcards for the last few years and have become exhausted with the method. I figure that hating my reviews was not helping my mind to care enough to actually keep stuff in memory; so I’m back to doing stuff I enjoy: the memory palace. I do have a few questions about to get back into the groove of things.

1. How do I use the method of loci and visualization to remember Arabic now that I’m ditching Anki.

2. I’m an accounting student and need to know a lot of concepts. How do I go about using the method of loci for concepts? I know how to use it for lists of objects and random facts, but not to understand a “process” or how things work.

3. How do I apply space time repetition best to my journeys that I travel? Although I hate Anki, I realize how important space-time repetition is. I guess I can only remember to do it for about 7 days. But how? Should I review once daily?

4. How do I transform concepts placed in my journeys into action? For example, in the past, on exams, I found I could easily retrace my journey beforehand but could not during and sometimes wouldn’t be able to tie together the journey with the exam question.

5. How do I solidify the journey from the beginning? Do I need to review the journey each and every time I add another idea/concept, or is it okay to add a few then periodically revisit everything from the beginning.

Thanks guys. I’m excited to be back.

Welcome back!

Have you seen Aaron Ralby’s approach to language learning with memory palaces? He has a course for Arabic, but there will be a full-blown VR version coming soon I think.