How much more efficient can/have memory techniques make/made you?

Hi! I’m still a novice at memory techniques but I think it’s very exciting because of all its potential uses. I have a question to ask my fellow memory athletes. How much more efficient at memorization can you become using mnemonics? How much more efficient at memorization have you become? Do you have any particular example? It would be great if we could start a discussion.
Thank you for your time! :slight_smile:

If you wanted a quote for the maximum efficiency you can achieve with memory techniques it would be near or photographic. That is very difficult however and the current heights give you a better idea if you look at the world records. Besides that in my case , on one of my exams I ended up taking my entire book for the subject and memorizing it point for point. It took me about 13 hours for 300 pages (I was not too fast) but it was not too bad either. 1 year later when my class had a simple session to review last years content, it seemed I still remembered a bunch from my cramming session. That may or may not be impressive given the subject is Physics and given I already understood but did not remember the information. I am certain now I could do it in half the time I took and shorter if I sacrifice understanding. In my opinion however you remember that there are many ways to use the memory techniques. At some point someone may suggest a reverse peg for reading text in images and placing them in loci as oppose to sound, keeping your mind open to experimentation and doing so early will get you pretty quickly set to using techniques.

1 Like