How memorization and essentialism doubled my work productivity

Let me give you my story on how the art of memory has changed my life on a practical level.

I am a Certified Public Accountant, and I prepare tax returns. I work at a firm where I am far younger and much less experienced than everyone else. I have no peers in age or accounting experience. My situation requires me to be a fast learner and to pick up at an accelerated pace. In an effort to learn at this required accelerated rate I combined two powerful concepts to double my productivity: essentialism and memorization.

I cannot talk about memorization without talking about essentialism. The concept is from the book of the same title “Essentialism: The Disciplined Art of Pursuing Less” by Greg McKeown. The central idea of the book is that you get more done by focusing the majority of your energy on the one or two things that are truly important, and you cut out everything that is not necessary to those few important things.

I applied this to my work process. Where in my work process might I be taking unnecessary steps? If something is taking three steps to perform, could I get it done in two or one? Could I hasten some steps just by changing how I carry them out?

Then it hit me: keyboard shortcuts!

In the November months we had an intern with us performing some scanning work and I would double-check all his scanning work. This means incessantly moving in and out of file directories on the company hard drive, and it’s tedious. Not only that, I was at the mercy of the most unproductive instrument at the computer user’s disposal–the mouse.