How has memorizing techniques helped you in school

Hi there, I’m new here and I’ve been a bit curious about memorization techniques and skills. One thing I want to ask is how has learning memorization techniques(Loci, Link and Story, etc) helped you in school and has it made your learning easier? Whether it be for a test, writing an essay or report, or for a PhD, etc. I’m curious to know your experience

2 Likes

Years ago I taught the methods to my cousin. She was struggling with Math and Science. I created a textbook study method. She said it was easier to read textbooks and was like having a cheat sheet in her mind. Her grades improved dramatically.

4 Likes

I am a mathematics student, and I use mnemonic techniques to remember theorems/lemmas/strategies/etc. For me it has been useful for day to day studies, for example if I need a quick refresh on the material when sitting down to study, I can mentally “scan” the most recent memorized material to get in the right mental space.

1 Like