How do you memorize sounds and symbols?

(Leroy S) #1

Two questions.

1. How do you memorize sounds i.e. the IPA sounds?
  2. How do you memorize abstract/foreign images and shapes i.e. Chinese Alphabet and IPA symbols.

I searched on the forum but I couldn’t find anything.
How you memorize the length, angle, curve, position, thickness, order, and the proper writing/sequence of each line that make up a symbol in Chinese or Japanese is something I haven’t been able to figure out.

(Paul Camacho) #2

Your brain automatically begins to hold data as soon as you experience it… It will hold it for about 5-7 until you either focus attention on something happening or you move on and take in new eperieces… One you focus in something for more then that 5-7 seconds the data become committee to long term memory depending on how much time you spending concemtrstiong on an experience and how you manage your thought of it… Im not an expert on acoustic but sensory perception requires repeat expeeoeces to gain quality of detail per memory… The more you can gain access to an experience… Hear something over and over… They higher the quality of your memory of it and the longer you remember it… Rehearsal is the most common effective technique to gain and enhance memory… Other wise concentration on something will burn it in as well… But to retain it completely you must review and maintain access to the ecperice or eventually the memory will fade away… People have been known to forget what there long lost relatives dead more then 60 years used to looked like or sounded like… Unless they habe photopgrahs or video recording too reference… Another common technique for commitimf things to memory is associating it to other experience or things you already know… You can cue w memory by assigning a phrase or word to help you remember it… I remember having trouble prounounfing the term “knot” when the teacher flash carded it… Is go through all the other words on the cards but get stuck on that w