How do you make a mnemonic for a word that has many different meanings? (French)

I am a beginner at making mnemonics. I came across this problem when I decided to memorize the 5,000 most common French words through a French Frequency Dictionary.

French’s first few most common words have many meanings depending on context. For example “le” can mean the, him, her, it, and them depending on how you use it.

If I say “J’ai le menu” (I have the menu) - le in this instance is “the”
If I say “Je l’ai” (I have it) - the “le” which is contracted refers to the “it” now, in other words it means “it” as opposed to “the”
And so on…

How do you create a mnemonic for a word like that which can mean different things? I mean would it work if you just added all those meanings into the mnemonic or would it get confusing?

I suppose this is also tied to learning a bit of grammar. Because in French you can’t say “J’ai le” (I have it) - that wouldn’t work - in other words, you can’t use the same word order in French as in English. Which leads me to the thought: how do you even begin to memorize grammar rules and all their exceptions?

Would love to find a solution to this. Thank you for reading.

You should be able to tell what the meaning of the word is by the context of the sentence. It will either make sense or won’t make sense. It depends what the grammar rules are, but I think a good place to start is to listen to the language and watch shows in that languages because you will pick up on the general grammar then you can look into the more nitty gritty stuff.

But I’d love to be able to encapsulate those meanings into a mnemonic though… I know that context is a factor but I don’t know how to sort of package that into a mnemonic. Or maybe it’s not necessary to make those most commonly used 100 words mnemonics because they’re used so often?