How can I remember every customer that comes to my till at my work

Howdy. I’m new to this form and I want to ask for some help.
I work at a retail store in a smallish community, and I’d think it would be cool if I developed the ability to remember everyone that I served that day, how many I served, and remember what kind of items they bought.
My problem is that I don’t have a name that I can work with the face. I only have the face to work with. I’ve tried to just pick out some key characteristics of their face, like: Square-ish glasses, looks like a librarian, has big ears, etc. But it just doesn’t really stick in my memory like I’d like it to.
I tried to make a memory palace trip, which each location representing the person, as in: A location for their face (looks like a boxer, I put him in a boxing ring), and have them doing something relating to what they mainly bought (they mainly bought sweets, then I have them eating sweets).
But the problem is that:

1. I don’t really remember the face all that well, its just a blur.
  2. It takes waaaaay too much brain power to produce while serving people.
    So my question for this form is:
    How can I have it so, that I can recall the faces and items of each customer that I serve on my till, in that it just takes my about 5 seconds to stick it to memory?

Thank you.
Hope everyone is doing okay with this Corona virus epidemic happening right now.

2 Likes

This is typical of a new skill. At first when I was learning the Major System, it took a lot of work to encode and then come up with mnemonics. After a while things become automatic. Perhaps set your immediate goals a little lower. Don’t aim to memorize, just come up with some characteristics or a story about each person as you encounter them. In the first stages this doesn’t have to result in anything useful.

3 Likes

Hi Mr Montana,