How can I practice Maths without writing it down(Edit:With a potential method)

I want to practice Maths but I am a slow writer and I had been thinking of methods of practicing Maths without writing it such as-

1. Organising my ideas of Maths.
  2. Doing Maths Verbally.
  3. Doing Maths in my sleep.

But, Now how can I practice Maths without writing anything and get better at it(Mathamatics),

I have most of the knowlage but I need to practice in order to avoid making mistakes and remembering most of the steps that I need to write,

And, I have 1 month before my exams and I need to perform well in them,

All ideas and Suggestions are welcome and will be appreciated,

And,

Have a Cheerful Day.

1 Like

It depends on the knowledge.

I used to simply visualize the computation. Since my handwriting wasn’t the greatest I quickly got comfortable doing this, and it actually improved my ability quite a lot. For a more proof orientated exam, I would advise doing math more verbally.

Hi aicreater,

I think the writing speed is not a big issue for writing math, but first I need to know how fast you currently are.

If you have developed a readymade calculating system like ‘cross method’ and could be easily transfer to mental math, maybe you could try to do it mentally, if not I’d still recommend writing math.

Are there any benefits to doing maths in your head? Improving working memory? Nowadays you probably need less mental arithmetic to get a job done, as there are calculators etc… However, if this does help other cognitive functions, I am intrigued.

Are you looking to be able to do mental arithmetic, such as 34 ÷ 56, without writing it down? Or mathematics such as calculus? Or the abstract thinking required for inventing proofs about abstract concepts?

I have ideas for each of these—especially the mental calculation since I do coaching and workshops in this—but my recommendations would be different for each.