Hi there!

Hi folks.

My name is Dan and I am an amateur magician and I use mnemonics in my act. I am looking forward to learning more with your help!

Cheers,

Dan.

6 Likes

Hi Dan,
It’s always been an interest of mine to learn magic tricks. I know some basic tricks, and I sometimes entertain my nephews. I think it’s one of the best ways to have fun with friends and relatives.

Do you use mnemonics to memorise the order of your tricks?

Welcome to the forum.

2 Likes

Hi Erol!

In my magic I use a memorised deck; or as a magician would call it a ‘memdeck’. This is where a stacked deck is memorised by the magician and is retained using false shuffles; no mean feat!

Mem deck magic can be very powerful indeed and, over the years, many top magicians have used it to great effect. Probably the most famous practitioner of memdeck magic is David Blaine.

I hope to strengthen my grasp of my memorised stack and share my love of memdeck magic. If it is allowed I will share clips of magicians using a memdeck for your enjoyment!

4 Likes

Many people share videos on the forum, I don’t think it would an issue. I love magic tricks. That would be great. Memdeck sounds like fun. I think most of would us enjoy to see how it’s presented, and would be great to learn it, but I know the code is to never reveal the secret :slight_smile:

I’m sure the forum will be very helpful to strengthen your skills.

Hi Dan - and welcome! :slight_smile:

How have you memorised your deck, and do you need help with that?

And what is it you want to achieve? What kind of mentalism effect, for example?

Ian

I am not short of tricks, having purchased books by Simon Aronson, Woody Aragon and, considered by many to be the bible of memorised deck magic, Mnemonica by Juan Tamariz. In fact, it is the Tamariz stack that I use.