Hey, need some advice [memorize a phone number]

Hey guys, I’m Alexis, I’m a bit new to all of this memory stuff,

I’m looking for the quickest/best possible way to memorize a phone number.
I want to be able to look at a number on a phone for 2-7 seconds and be able to recall it with 100% accuracy 2-5 min later.
after looking at the chat for a while i think the very best thing for me to do is to memorize something like Ben’s system where i have images for all the 3 digit numbers from 000 - 999… This way all I have to do is memorize the images associated with 3 chunks for the first 9 digits and then another image for the last one at the end,
this would be faster then the 5 images i would have to remember if i only learned from number 00-99. And since phone numbers written on a phone are already in 3-4 digit chunks I think it’d make it easier

Bu once again, i’m really new to this memory stuff . if anybody has any feedback or if anybody thinks that a different way would look better please let me know .

I’m not afraid to put it tons of work. I can’t really say what i’m using this for but i’m willing to put lots of time towards it.

2 Likes

How many phone numbers do you need to memorize? Is it part of your job or you just ask a lot of girls for their number?

Seems like way overkill to do a 3 digit system for phone numbers. I would probably just do a major system 00-99 because it’s the quickest to fill out and you aren’t doing anything fancy with it.

1 Like

part of my job lol
And I don’t need to memorize multiple at the same time. Just one at a time for about 2 minutes.
is there a way to just put it in my short term memory without changing it to objects/images?
i was trying but it didn’t work for me

Have you tried chunking?

1 Like

I have, but it didn’t really work for me.
I need to occupy mind with something else before I get back to thinking about the numbers

Is chunking something you can get better at with practice? When I was doing it it felt kinda hopeless.