Help this 15 year become the best version of himself

Hello my name is Antonio Mato and I am a 15 year old who is interested in mnemonics, mental calcuation and speedreading or any other method to increase my intelligence!!

I recently decided to become the best I can be and I already took steps towards this
I entered a gym and changed my diet while also making this account to improve myself!!
Since I am still a beginner I decided that help and shared experiences are something I need to know so as not to make any mistakes along the way or regret something later.

This is where you come in :thinking:
Since I am still quite ignorant and inexperienced please beat some sense and knowledge into me

Thank you

8 Likes

There’s usually nothing to regret if you learn something from your mistakes. Keep in mind that everyone learns in a different way, some techniques work better for some people than for others. You will have to try out different techniques for your own in order to find the ones that fit you best. For me personally, Memory Palaces + Dominic System + Spaced Repetition were easy to apply from the beginning, while I always had (and still have) trouble with speed-reading and the linking-method. For other people it can be the other way around, but you can only know for sure if you try it.

Have you seen the Getting Started Guide?

4 Likes

Can you give me a realistic statistic to how well one does when starting up for example in speed cards or 5 minute numbers? What is the average time for beginners and what was it for you?

I don’t think there’s such a statistic, at least not that I know of. I can’t remember exactly how long it took me to memorize a deck of cards for the first time; probably more than 20 minutes, though. But I wouldn’t recommend focussing too much on the time in the beginning (comparing your time with others can go both ways: you’re either getting motivated or discouraged).