Help! Mnemonic Techniques for Restaurant Workers

Hello friends!

Let me start off by stating that I am a novice at mnemonics. I own copies of “Your Memory” by Higbee, “The Memory Book” by Lorayne. and a few others. I’ve been fascinated by these memory techniques ever since discovering their practicality in learning and remembering and have been trying to incorporate them into my life.

Which is were I’ve hit a speed bump.

I work at a fast paced seasonal restaurant where I am required to sell and recommend, food and beverage items, write the guests order down, course their meal accordingly with the kitchen, clear and reset for each course, remember regulars and special people, finding and adjusting guest allergy accommodations, etc etc the list goes on.

What I would like to be able to do with mnemonics…

1. Create a system allowing me to memorize temporarily each guests’ order from their water preference, appetizer, entree, drink, dessert, special requests and allergies, and special occasions without writing them down.
  • I’d like to be able to do this with multiple tables at the same time, most sections have about 5 tables of 4 seats.
  1. A system for permanently memorizing the menu, prices, appetizer/entree ingredients, cocktail recipes, beer and wine tasting notes, special guests’ names and preferences.

2. I’d like to be able to set up trigger (or link) points in my service that act as a reminder to do a specific task.

3. Access my priorities mentally and organize them as a sort of “to do” task list

That’s most of it… The problem I’m having is knowing which tool is right for the job.

I’ve thought about using the entire restaurant as a Loci, but for which information?
Or should I use the restaurant as a sort of temporary Loci… hmmm.
Should I link peg words for menu items and ingredients?
Should I journey?
Knowing which technique to use is the bulk of my difficulty and thus why I am writing this.