Help Me put some words in my palace

Hello Everyone,
I am new in memory Palace technique and Learning German. So I need some help in how you people fit some words in palace.
So, I am learning vocab alphabetically. I will mention my words in following sequence

Word | meaning | loci

abheben | Withdraw | Kitchen Stove.

Just want to know some basics as how you deal with words that don’t have resembling sound which are very tough to fit it if I break them into parts.

2 Likes

I’d create a mnemonic image based on the sounds: ab sounds kind of like “abs” (abdominal muscles), and Heben sounds kind of like “heaven”.

It might help to study the prefix ab-.

https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/ab-#German

Separable verb prefix that indicates removal or quitting, off, away.

• ab- + fahren (“to drive”) → abfahren (“to depart, drive away”)
  • ab- + spülen (“to rinse, wash”) → abspülen (“to rinse off, wash off”)

Once “ab” has an associated meaning and image, it should make these words easier to learn.

You could also try grouping all the ab- words in one location of a memory palace/journey so that the location encodes the prefix.

3 Likes

Actually I forgot to mention its already in my “ab” Palace so that I don’t have to put Mnemonic image everywhere.

“Heaven” this is what I also thought But I had doubt in creating a story regarding Particularly fitting Heaven in my kitchen stove with its meaning Withdraw.

Btw thanks for the links I will go through them once

1 Like

Heaven reminds me of angels, not one angel but a lot.

So to me, it could be that angels are flying around in my kitchen, and when they see me, they quickly withdraw into my stove. I peek through one of the holes they crawled through and I get a look at heaven before they close the door.

4 Likes

Ok now I see like double linking Heben to Heaven
Then Heaven to angel
My Story
Angels wants (to take me away) from this world to (Heaven) but only if I sacrifice by burning my hand on the stove