French verb conjugation

Hey
I have been learning french for 3 years, and now I have to learn all the conjuncations for every one of the grammar times:
Le présent
Le passé composé
L’imparfait
Le plus que parfait
Le futur simple
Le futur antérieur
So, maybe you have an idea or some tips for how can I learn all these conjunctions using memory techniques without get confused
Thanks in advance :blush:

2 Likes

So what have you been doing for three years then? I mean without conjugation you’d have to say “Hello, my name to be @Nika120” instead of is. I’m actually quite curious as to how you ended up in this situation.

Okay, so… first you learn the two auxiliary verbs avoir and être to even be able to “compose” (hence passé “composé”) half the tenses you mention up there. In fact, split that in half and just learn avoir for now because you’ll run into it more often.

Next, learn how to conjugate verbs in the first group and you will have be able to do all six tenses for all of these. Here “donner” as an example: https://www.larousse.fr/conjugaison/francais/donner/3451 Then, learn être for verbs of motion and continue on with the second group. Here “arriver” as an example: https://www.larousse.fr/conjugaison/francais/arriver/567 Lastly, the third group with all the irregular verbs and that’s it.

1 Like

Consider the above the strategy and this post the implementation… I figured it’d make sense to split them like this. So, I’ll start you off with the first group and avoir to give you an idea… the rest is up to you then.

penser (présent)

• je pense
  • tu penses
  • il, elle pense
  • nous pensons
  • vous pensez
  • ils, elles pensent

Take the infinitive penser and drop the -er to get the stem pens and add the endings -e, -es, -e, -ons, -ez, -ent accordingly. This is how you build the présent for ALL verbs ending in -er; with the exception of aller which is irregular. This is called the first group.

avoir (présent)

• j’ai
  • tu as
  • il, elle a
  • nous avons