Do you record your memory palaces / journeys?

Hi!

I’m a noob and trying to begin working with and constructing journeys on a regular basis for all sorts of things. I’m a software engineer so as you might guess there are a LOT of things I can benefit from remembering. Algorithms, formulas, complexity graphs for Big-O notation, and things like the rules of 12 factor apps and various things around distributed software engineering.

Now, I know that many of your have several hundred, or thousands of journeys and I’m asking those of you who do… how do you manage them? Do you have a memory palace for memory palaces? Or do you just simply write them down and what they contain and go over the list from time to time?

Also recall is a b*tch at some point isn’t it? Like, I’m reading Lynne Kelly’s book of Memory craft and she says she has thousands of these several km long. I’m guessing she doesn’t go over them all to often, I’m just wondering how you peeps do it.

Cheers!

1 Like

Welcome, so I started using this techniques last year, so i have some hundreds of loci now, to manage them, i create rooms, or use rooms in real life, and i categorize them in areas of knowledge, so i have a section for anatomy, calculus, biochemistry etc. And they are divided internally too, the palaces get smaller and smaller, so in the biochemistry palace, i have a palace for some cycles and in some part of these cycles i put more palaces.
To recall, I simply go section by section of my knowledge, you can do that before sleeping or while taking a bath, you also will perceive that you need to go through them less often, for example, nowadays, I rarely visit my section where the trigonometric identities are, but I can recall them with perfection, a rule of thumb would be to make something “exponential”, so recalling that thing every day for 5 days, every 2 days for 10 days, every 4 days for 20 days, every 8 days for 40 days, and so on. At some point you won’t need to recall it so often.