Can mnemonics be used for higher education?

Hello, so I have been using visualization techniques for a while now, and they are indeed effective. However, they’re also extremely time consuming, and I am a situation (university) where time is a scarce. I am studying biology concepts, and I want to use visualization techniques to help me employ the SQ3R method. (Saves time because no cue cards need to be created) By rote memorization I can quickly learn a fact around two minutes. Can I reach that speed through the use of mnemonics? If so, how much time would I have to wait? I honestly don’t know, some people tell me it requires too much time, while others say that visualization is valuable. If I return to using cue cards, I’m definitely still going to use the memory palace with it, because I’ve been getting such great results from it.

I need to get to a point where an understanding of the material as fast as possible. I’ll appreciate any feedback given. Thank you.

1 Like

Mnemonic can be really time consuming for some reasons, I suffered in my past learning progress. I had asked myself why it took me so long to do the trick? Below, it’s my summary.

• Not understand the content. without comprehensiveness, the translation between concept and images were being hindered.
    70% of the time brain WANDERING

• Duplicative(many copies) and abbreviated(ideas simplified too much) encryption. An idea was memorised twice or more in different ways, causing “Déjà vu” and chaos.
    20% of the time brain DOUBTFUL

• Unorganised structure. some ideas sat at home, some sat at school, when needed? No way to tell where the brilliant things at? Causing headaches.
    10% of the time brain DAMAGE
    Above all, fatal in exam