Beginner...would like to use techniques for medical school

Greeting fellow “Warriors of the Mind.”

I’m very new to all this memory stuff and was hooked about a week ago when I applied Harry Lorayne’s method for memorizing numbers to the first 100 digits of pi. I could recite 100 digits within an hour and, needless to say, I was thoroughly captivated by the idea of applying these memory techniques for my upcoming medical school studies (beginning July).

Hello moca83,

As a fellow medical student, I can assure you that you’ll find memory techniques very helpful during your studies. You can go through the books of Dominic O’Brien and use the techniques in them to come up with your own.

I use memory techniques a lot to memorize drugs, their effects, etc.

Hey moca83, welcome to the awesome world of memory techniques :smiley:

Hello Yan. I’m pleased to see other medical professionals utilizing various memory techniques–further confirmation that these methods can be used in a wide variety of venues. I will definitely check out O’Brien’s books…any other “must reads”?

At this point of my memory training, I’m trying to find ideal methods to memorize textbook-type information (i.e., biochem, immunology, etc) along with anatomy (attaching the vocabulary to the images). Maybe I can bounce some ideas off you as they come up?

Hope your training is going well. Talk to you later.

Thanks sleightly! I appreciate the warm welcome! :slight_smile: