Beginner progression

I am sure this question has been often repeated in different forms. Like so many others, I was inspired to memory train after reading “Moonwalking with Einstein” a year ago. Since then, I have read (parts of) a couple more memory technique books. I think I know most of the techniques in theory, and I love practicing them too. I don’t really have any solid reason to memory-train: I am a PhD student in a Stem-field, and I don’t really need to remember stuff anymore (except shopping lists and such banal stuff). I would like to get better at memory-techniques cause I just like the challenge of it.

But I am lacking in a program that allows some kind of structured progression; for example, like you have “duolingo” to learn a new language, that guides you step-by-step. Or in learning piano, you have books where each page has a piece which is slightly tougher, or introduces a new technique etc. The books I studied on memory-techniques are more about introducing a technique followed by a couple of exercises.

Does anyone know of such a resource - could be an app/software. Or a book - focused on increasing complexity of exercises (rather than a lot of techniques with 1-2 exercises for each).

Dominic O’Brien’s book, How to Develop a Brilliant Memory Week by Week: 52 Proven Ways to Enhance Your Memory Skills, might be useful.

Our free ebook introduces the techniques in an order that makes sense for beginners, with links to further resources on each topic.

Here’s a syllabus for a free self-study memory course that shows you how to study the techniques for the first seven days.

There is some software here: https://artofmemory.com/software/

Memory League helps people train daily with incrementally more challenging tasks.

2 Likes

There isn’t much of that really… it’s more like riding a bike or learning how to swim.

1 Like

I see…thanks! I guess I will need to have more self-motivation towards it.