Associating Major System Consonants to Words

Hello out there fellow newbies! I am extremely new to the world of memorization, and I find it fascinating. Learning about numbers have always been an interest for me: quickly adding numbers and making associations. I am excited to dive into this space and associating numbers with images. I am amazed now quickly the number shapes system works. My challenge is the major system. Does anyone have any tricks/ tips to quickly associate the two constant word back into the number? I find myself remembering the constants to convert the number into words but going back from a word to a number is more challenging. Thanks in advance. Appreciate your help.

1 Like

The words can have more than two consonants if you want. The general idea is that the first two consonants should match the digits though.

What I did was to say the two consonants out loud as if they were the start of the word. Then I would pause and say the whole word. That associated the instinctive initial sound that I would make when I saw those consonants to the final word.

Some examples:

Number Consonants Initial Sound Image
01 S T suhhhh-t iCeD tea
05 S L suhhhh-l eaSeL
10 T S tuh-ssss oTiS redding
14 T R turrr oTTeR
15 T L tullll aTL-atl
20 N S nnn-sss einSTein

If that doesn’t make sense, let me know and I could try to come up with a better explanation. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I honestly like using a consonants as the first digit and a vowel sound as the second digit. It is some much easier to go back and forth. I think it is more effective than the major system.
So if 0 is the first digit, it would be the letter 0- z,s, If 0 is the second digit, then the vowel sound would be 0 - ‘oo’