Assistance with memorizing Law

Good day all😊

I am an aspirant attorney, and currently in Law school. I have not committed seriously to memorisation techniques because I am intimidated by the amount available and don’t know where or how to begin.

Could anyone kindly assist me by letting me know what route I can pursue (such as which techniques to focus on) in order to develop a stronger memory for words (not necessarily to know them verbatim, but retain understanding based off of a body of text) as well as general exercises or methods for developing a stronger memory.

I have an example attached of some study material.

If anyone could use it to explain the above it would go greatly appreciated.

T.I.A

3 Likes

I’d start by cutting the information down to as few keywords as possible, while trying to still have the meaning of what the original text meant to say. Then come up with images for all the keywords.
Think of a place that you know well and you can use as a memory palace in order to hold the information (i.e. the images you’ve come up with) you’d like to memorize.

Could you try to put the study material you provided, in keywords and describe the essential point of it all in one short sentence? If you, as an attorney, were to explain this concept to a client, how would you phrase it in a nutshell while still keeping it precise?

If you could provide the keywords and the short “take home message” of Section 21, I could tell you how I’d memorize the information. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thank you for your insights Silvio :slight_smile:

The keywords would be
Solvent spouse
Sequestered spouse
Legally separated
Master
Trustee appointed
Property
Vest

A take home summary would read as follows: