Am I doing it wrong

I am new to memory techniques and I’m trying to memorize some research papers for my masters program. Im coming up with images to memorize text, but I’m writing down a description of the images and what they’re doing and what other images are they interacting with. It is taking more time than I thought. Am I doing it wrong? am I not supposed to write the visualizations down? If so how would I revise them later? How can I speed up my memorization?

(Silvio B.) #2

No. You’re not doing anything wrong :slight_smile:

I do the same when I want to learn something for long term use (for me, that’s mostly laws and jurisdiction). In the beginning, it took much more time to learn something with memory techniques than it does now. You get faster the more you train memory techniques and especially by using them to learn the information that is useful specifically to you. The hardest part is often to come up with images for abstract information, which you can also train by memorizing random words (for example on memory league).

I wouldn’t try to rush during memorization for things you’d like to remember for more than a few weeks. If you take your time to memorize it properly and then review with spaced repetition, you save time in the long run.

I’ve started using excel-spreadsheets to write down my notes on things I memorized. After a while, I’ve become quite efficient that way.

The information I put in my excel-spreadsheets is:

1. The information (sometimes very detailed, sometimes not so much)
  2. The keyword I need to remember the information
  3. The image(s) I use for the keyword (+ the people from my number system if numbers are involved)
  4. The memory palace I use for it / the location in the palace
  5. Sometimes additional notes

This way, I can review all of it quite quickly.

Thank you. :star_struck: