A law students journey to a better memory

Hi!

I figured that it would be good to create journal where I can get some insight from the more knowledgeable members of the forum as well as writing down my my progress.

I am currently doing a master in Law and realized that anything that could help me achieve a better study environment is positive. I have been thinking about learning certain techniques about memory but I have always been able to, in some way or another, remember what I need to know.

The realization came to me quite early that I do not have a good technique for memorization and that leads to me having a hard time to remember large quantities of information that is needed.

I started by researching books from memory champions and other authors who I read great reviews about. I think I have almost every book written by Dominic O’brien as well as his audio book (haven’t started listening to it yet) as well as several other authors such as Kevin Horsley, Chester Santos, Lynne Kelly, Tony Buzan and Helmut Sach. As a matter of fact, I think that I might have too many books for my own good.

I started to use the memory of loci for when I was going for groceries and it really helped in that matter. I am no longer arriving home and suddenly realizing that I forgot to buy something.

I’ve began using mind mapping again and “colour-coding” it to make it a bit more “pleasant” for the eye so to say when I am reading books and I believe that it works rather well but not when it comes down to a detailed level. Helmut Sach brings up a method called “SQ3R” that I haven’t tried yet but will do so at a later stage.

As of now, I am creating a memory palace/journey from the information that I written down on my mind map. I don’t know why, but it feels a bit hard to create connections between different aspects of the law that I need to remember.